The X Factor

Jon wrote in with this gem of a marketing campaign:

Hi, I noticed today that TalkTalk, without asking or telling, has took it upon itself to stick cheap tacky adverts on outgoing and incoming emails — namely:

Britain. It’s time to face the music. Have you got what it takes? Visit
http://www.carphonewarehouse.com/xfactor

Britain. It’s time to face the music. Have you got what it takes? Visit
http://www.carphonewarehouse.com/xfactor

I write a number of important emails from several domains (never using the tacky talktalk.net address), and I am annoyed that these now have CPWH & xfactor plastered over them.

Fortunately, I am at the end of my lengthy tie-in contract, so I have told TalkTalk to remove them or I will gladly cancel my account.

Regards, Jon.

note my emails now have the automated ‘tacky advert’ warning!

===============================
Tacky advert placed without warning
on incoming & outgoing emails of subscribers
to TalkTalk – even though they are PAYING
for telephone/internet services!
************************************************
Another reason for NOT using TalkTalk.
================================

Britain. It’s time to face the music. Have you got what it takes? Visit
http://www.carphonewarehouse.com/xfactor

I’m noticing those kinds of advertisements, you know even if you’re a paying customer, are becoming more common. I’m not sure I’d be comfortable advertising the X Factor (that poor girl from the other night…)

What do you guys think?

(I’m catching up with your e-mails and things right now. It’s been a crazy 25 days since the meeting. At this rate I should be caught up with everything by December :/)

Leave a Reply

