Dec C’s tips and tricks.

Dec wrote in to give us a healthy run down of your and their rights. I do think he’s underestimating the terrifying fiasco of Talk Talk slightly. Just slightly though. Get to skimming!

As Charles Dunstone presides over what is arguably the biggest customer relations disaster in British business history it is astonishing that so many customers are sticking with this shambles of an organisation.

I knew by the end of the first week that TalkTalk had let me down badly.

I made the mistake of believing their empty promises that things would improve and it was another five months of absolute hell before I realised the scale of this company’s failure.

I have now left and have signed up with a decent company – and it hasn’t cost me a penny more than I was being charged by TalkTalk.

What I cannot understand is the good manners of customers who go on believing that they are tied into a contract with TalkTalk, which they must continue to honour no matter how many time they are kicked in the teeth by Dunstone and his crew.

The truth is this:

Once TalkTalk has broken its contract with you by failing to provide an adequate service, you are no longer bound by its terms

You can repudiate the contract by sending TalkTalk a letter by recorded delivery stating that it is in breach of contract and that you are terminating the agreement.


You have a right to a MAC code within a reasonable period – a few days at the most.

Because it is TalkTalk and not you who is at fault they cannot legally force you to pay a disconnection fee – no matter what the contract says.

If they do try just remind them of The Unfair Terms in Consumer Contracts Regulations 1999 which will protect you from any threats they may care to make.

I was amused to see Charles Dunstone’s press statement about rail passengers who accept their fate once they are given an explanation over why their train is late.*

What he should realise is that nobody needs to be on his train. The scale of his failure means that no court in the land would support any move he now makes to try to force disaffected broadband customers to abide by his tarnished contracts.

So feel free to leave and find a broadband provider you can trust – they are plenty around.

And remember – a bargain is only a bargain if it works.

To the people who run this site I would offer this advice – don’t be bullied into silence. Everything I have seen here is “fair comment on a matter of public concern” and that is a good defence against accusations of libel.

In fact TalkTalk’s reputation is now in such tatters that I don’t believe anything that anybody says here could make it worse.

Thanks Dec!

And thanks for the advice Dec, much appreciated. As you can imagine CPW’s legal team were fairly aggressive.

* Charles Dunstone should hear me on the phone to Northern Rail if he thinks that’s even moderately true.

Technorati Tags: , , , ,

powered by performancing firefox

8 responses to “Dec C’s tips and tricks.

  1. Hey, can you write the adress ? Where do we have to send this letter by recorded delivery ? Where did you send it ? Is the MAC CODE all I need to shift back to BT ?

  2. So I called them, and the adress I got is:

    CARPHONE WAREHOUSE
    PLC
    1 Portal Way
    London W36RS

    I should receive a MAC code a few days after they get the recorded delivery. Following that, I’ll have to call them again with it, and I should be back on BT within 5/7 days.

    I hope it works. It seems a bit too easy.

  3. Can anybody CONFIRM that adress. Thanks

  4. my brother cannot access hotmail. I have tried evry trick in the book including “Dr TCP” still doesn’t work. I have told him that it is definetley his ISP that is the problem. He is worried that he has an 18th month contract and can’t get out of it. I tolf him that as your service does not allow you full access to a reasonable service on the Internet, they are in breach of contract. Come someone just confirm this and also state exactly what he needs to do next? Yours in need, P D

  5. I have been having problems with this company since November. I have been with BT from 22nd November.

    I cancelled my service with them in November and they still keep invoicing me every month. I have spent hours on the phone with their customer services, sending letters as a recorded delivery, to their Credit Controller and
    Customer Services Manager with no results. I don’t know what else to do.

    I sent to Talk my bills and letters from BT to proof I am not their customer. One week after I sent the bills to TalkTalk, I had a letter from BT saying that a retail company got in touch with them and that I am terminating my contract with BT. This behaviour is not acceptable.

    Recently I have been getting calls and letters from Debth Collectors.

    This situation is getting worse and I am going to
    write to the executive director of the Carphone
    Warehouse.

  6. Hi Jim. Photos i received. Thanks

  7. Graham Liptrott

    I am having terrible problems trying to get rid of Talk Talk. I followed there guidelines and gave 30 days notice to quit (on 06th March 2008) but they didn’t do anything with my letter until 20th March and now want me to keep paying for a service that I don’t want until they decide to end the contract, I believe I am in the disconnection process but nobody can tell me when that will be. Further I was told that I would get any over payment returned, but they don’t know when. It appears that when dealing with Talk Talk it is advisableyou to send a recorded delivery letter to safeguard your rights.

Leave a Reply

