Something nice? Never.

It’s not often that I get to say something nice about anything to do with the Carphone Warehouse. (On Sunday I actually glowered at one of their stores rather fiercely. That’s right, you heard me, glowered.) I mean, this blog isn’t called Talk Talk Heaven right? Saying that, there is one, but their hit counter definitely hasn’t gone over 80,000.

They’ve dropped the domain name dispute.

They also deny starting any arbitration. However, my domain is still locked. It could be a product of Go Daddy’s mystifying control panel… No one seems to know!

Go Daddy did decide to eventually answer my support question and are allowing me to unlock it. What, like I did it myself in the first place? Surely there’s a difference between ‘redirect’ and ‘lock.’ Who knows though?

Essentially, they’ve said that they’re happy the domain name isn’t being used for anything commercial.

I would pay good money (you hear that J?) to see the inner workings of the Carphone Warehouse legal team.* All I get is the other end of it, which occasionally makes it seem like it might be a vortex of oddities that may or may not have green alien women.

In response to the vortex’s other requests, I’ve edited some additional comments that I didn’t realize were still lingering around. This is the problem with broaching 1000 in total, you guys are as easy to keep track of as those beatles on CSI:New York. The edit was kind of a ‘oh, fine, fair enough’ sort of gesture.

There’s still one stickler issue that CPW really, really, really wants taken care of and that’s the posting of Charles Dunstone’s e-mail address.

I’m iffy about this.

A quick Google search comes up with about 9 websites (22 if you get rid of the ‘similar’ filter) proudly displaying the e-mail address of the big man himself.

On one hand, when my work e-mail address was posted on a completely unrelated website by one of my colleagues as a point of contact thing, I was livid. I mean, I don’t actually answer customer queries, I am technical. I’m not even a big MD mouthpiece. I am a small little techie peon that occasionally answers the phone. Under my gaze of death, they did eventually capitulate and the address was removed in favor of theirs (ha.)

So, it’s kind of similar to that.

On the other, there’s a teensy clause in the DPA that says stuff about ‘in the public interest.’ Now, you guys keep writing to me with tales of customer service depression. You get cut off, or kept on hold for 45 minutes at a time, reach people that don’t fulfill their promises, or people who don’t know how to fix it. In Charles Dunstone’s own admission, customer service at the Carphone Warehouse is pretty poor. They’re understaffed and at times frighteningly inept.

Due to the bargain basement customer service, some of you have been sent to collections. Others charged for months on end for a service you’ve never received.

So, why shouldn’t I have the e-mail address of the man who admits to the problem posted? If you click that same search, you’ll find that people relay it as a way of helping others. Oddly, after e-mailing Dunstone or calling his office, things tend to get fixed in short order. Now that’s public interest.

It’s also not like I’m publishing something that’s super secret. Surely, if it’s that big of an issue for the man to be on the direct receiving end of his customer’s ire, his own internal techies can change his alias and make that one bounce. Easy enough to do in modern e-mail programs. Yet, from what I can tell, they haven’t.

So, TTH is pondering what to do about that one. I’ve been leaning towards no, unless CPW legal can point out the bit in the DPA that says you can’t post e-mail addresses. As of yet, they haven’t.

In better news, Talk Talk Hell has the day off work tomorrow. What should she do besides update this thing a lot? This beast has given me a lot of catch up work, including more issues with NetGear routers.

*Obviously, this is a joke.

Technorati Tags: , ,

powered by performancing firefox

One response to “Something nice? Never.

  1. it might be worth checking, but us i understand it, the DPA applies to business’ which i guess you are not 🙂

    further more, i would doubt it is possible to realistically take action against someone for posting an email address that is already in the public domain AND i am doubtful that it is his PERSONAL address anyway

Leave a Reply

