Walter’s advice regarding unfair billing practises

It may comfort the DSL users to know that beyond basic phone services, Talk Talk is more Quiet Quiet. (See what I did there?) Walter’s recommendation is to contact their compliance manager, which is listed in their Ts and Cs. Have a read through:

Join the club, I had with BT a second number on the line with a distinctive ring tone, this I use for incoming business calls. As a contracting engineer on call-out, the second number is the point contact for my customers. The TalkTalk sales promised that this was available and would be part of my service.

On the day of the change over from BT my business calls suddenly stopped. A quick call to customerservices revealed that the second number service wasn’t available, apparently TalkTalk use old technology exchanges.

Once I told them that the second number is my livelihood and that would be returning BT, they immediately placed me on 999 calls only. This was the point the customer service completely ended.

It took BT a couple of weeks to get my service up and running normally, during this period I was losing money. (No criticism of BT, it’s 100% down to TalkTalk)

It was a couple of days that they had provided the limited service, they actually charged me for complete month, insignificant really compared to the wages I lost. Despite cancelling the D/debit mandate, they took the full amount. No problem, I reversed the payment under the DD guarantee.

I soon realised that my calls to customer services were never to be answered, so I complained via email. My opinion is that they may have a blacklist of customers with complaints, so try withholding your number when ringing them. (Assuming that’s available with talktalk.)

My emails to customer service got issued a ref number and that is where it ended. I was given some standard answers that had been pulled from list of “paste reply’s” none of which had any relevance to the complaint. Their “Code of practice” is available to download from the talktalk site, it states that you can request a senior manager to revue your complaint. In practice you can request it but it doesn’t mean you will get it, two emails and still no senior manager.

I am still receiving threatening letters from their debt recovery services; they have actually used two over the last few months. I think the first one has exhausted his set of standard letters. I am now getting letters from a second debt collector. The legal rhetoric in these letters would certainly put the wind up little old ladies. Shameful really, for just over £12 in calls!

Today I sent an email was to the “Compliance Manger” his email address is in the Code of practice along with addresses for Ofcom and Otelo, so get writing. Keep in mind their threats to blacklist you with credit reference agencies, it ok to take a stand on principle over a few quid. It could cost you if you needed a loan, better to pay the bill with a statement that you only paying under duress. This is my intension should the “compliance manager” email fail, I will try the county court for redress.

I suspect those kinds of letters would give little old ladies heart attacks!

Talk to Walter

powered by performancing firefox

Leave a Reply

