ScoozMee’s letter of cancellation

Saying that Talk Talk’s service is improving in light of recent media grovelling is pretty much akin to saying young Tara Reid is in the process of sobering up. Might sell papers, might get us reading but the reality is pretty dissimilar to the corporate babble.

Have a read through of ScoozMee’s cancellation letter. You tell me if things have improved.

I am writing to cancel my subscription to your dis-service.

Firstly, if I’d known at the time of ordering my telephone and broadband from yourselves, that you indulged in the practice of routing your customer-support calls to call centres outside of the UK to cheap-labour centres in Pakistan and South Africa, I most certainly would not have supported your immorality.

However, at the time I was informed that you only used UK-based call-centres.

Of course, I’ve since found that to be untrue.

Secondly, I was told that my broadband service, modem/router and microfilters would be provided within three weeks or so. Four months later, and several calls to your customer-disservice line, my equipment still has not been provided.

As I had not received any bills from yourselves in the three months that I had been subscribing to your service, I called your customer-disservice centre to confirm my address – Your records did not contain my correct address.

Once again, I provided the correct address details and still your cheap-labour did not perform with any degree of competency and I finally received a bill – Still incorrectly addressed.

When, finally, I’d lost all faith in your company and asked Ghita to cancel my account with yourselves, she continued to ramble on giving me more hollow apologies and false promises to deliver my equipment – Totally ignoring my ever-more insistent demands to cancel my account. Eventually, she said that she would need to transfer my call.

I then waited for another half-hour or more, listening to your recorded lies about my call being important and that you would answer my call shortly.

At the end of my long wait, the call was simply cut and I found myself listening to a continuous tone and then silence.

I waited another four or five days (the time quoted by Ghita to deliver my equipment) before I then called back – Of course, my equipment was not delivered, so I’d decided to continue with my action to cancel my account.

The person on the other end of the telephone (Waquas – Rhymes with Jackass), responded with laughter when he entered my details into his computer and when I informed him that I didn’t much care to be laughed at – He said that he wasn’t laughing at me, but was reading the notes written on my account. I’ll remind you of the Data Protection Act and hereby demand that you submit to myself, all of the records and details that you have on your system pertaining to myself. If after receiving such information, I feel that you have not fully complied, I will instigate an investigation of your adherence to the aforementioned act.

When I asked Waquas to effect a cancellation, he said that he could not do so, but that I would have to dial another number – Which he then read out to me.

I tried the number he provided several times, and I even attempted a selection of different permutations of the number, just in case I’d copied it down incorrectly – However, I am quite used to taking very detailed information over the telephone and the chances that I had copied the number incorrectly are slim. The number provided was bogus.

The next day, I received a bill, from yourselves, stating that you had taken 45 pounds from my account via direct debit.

You had no right or entitlement to that money. That sum was in ADDITION to the amounts recently taken out for provision of telephone service and the bill indicated that you were about to take a further ten pounds from my bank account.

You have been taking money from my account – Without notification, permission, or right. This is commonly known as THEFT. Despite Waquas’s claim that a manager would call me and refund the money taken from my account, this has not happened.

So, I called my bank and gave them strict instructions to block ALL attempts from your company to steal any more funds from my personal account.

This means that my mobile phone insurance policy with yourselves will also no longer be paid and I am quite happy to tell you that I consider that account likewise CANCELLED.

You may rest assured that I will forward details of your company’s activities to the Department of Trade and Industry, OFTEL, numerous radio stations and newspapers, BBC WatchDog and various websites.

You can also take note that as you act like a prostitute who steals money from the wallet of a sleeping client, you have rightfully earned the nickname Carphone Whorehouse.

You will be receiving NO FURTHER MONEY from myself as you have already taken much more than your entitlement.

I’d like to add that my bills with yourselves have been far in excess of those with BT and according to the wording of your marketing solicitations, you owe me 1000 pounds.

Finally – You have NOT been charged for this communication, however, should I find it necessary to deal with your company again, you will be charged 25 pounds for administration.

Overcharged, promises not fulfilled, bad customer service, insane billing practises… sounds pretty much the same as it did 4 months ago.

Talk to SM (Fitting acronym yes? Like SM:ISP)

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

powered by performancing firefox

6 responses to “ScoozMee’s letter of cancellation

  1. Stephen Turnock

    ScoozMee

    im glad talk talk dont make beer..! how does one cancel? they dont answer the phone, dont reply to snail mail and dont answer emails – which i have to write on a dial-up modem becase the braodband dosent work.

    In sympathy of your plight but in some way a comfort its not just me!

  2. Pingback: scoozmee’s letter of cancellation :: Newstack

  3. You wanna hear something funny? well its partially funny, if it had happened to sum1 else, my mum went to see her sisters wedding abroad, and we had the phone made one way for financial reasons, imagine my surprise wen we get a phone bill, from a company who told us that their service would start next month!, 42 pounds! furthermore i get a modem that doesnt work, (im using the ancient bt voyager 100 now, and its brilliant still) a bill on top of 20 pound, (two bills in same month) 4 features we didnt even select, and after i initially applied online (full details) i got a call, from india, – hello sir we understand that you wish to join our quality service, can i get your details?!!! oh and the smal matter of the phonline going down twice, and had to be disconnected for 46 hours each time so they can repair it, Im cancelling direct debit, like you did and will also post on the various sites you have mentioned,

    you have my sympathy mate!

  4. oh and btw i recommend Ukonline.net, brilliant service, hardly ever need help n if you do it takes a while to get thru to customer service, but they see you to the very end, and they dont let up until they have sorted your broadband out, oh btw is cheap as hell £30 for 22mb and a single 80 pound purchase of a adsl 2 router,
    byee

  5. To be honest with you sending letters like that are stupid.

    I cancelled my talktalk in 10 minutes over the phone when changing address. I cannot believe you couldn’t manage the same.

    I work in a very customer orientated environment and I will tell you this, most of you are VERY stupid and spend your time waiting for a chance to complain. I suppose that’s the society we live in, where toffy nose people that pay nothing for broadband go on to complain about it.

    *sigh

    ahh well I wish you all a good day. I’m off to surf the web, maybe do some emails or a bit of online gaming on my free and very satisfying talktalk internet connection… mind you I do have a Apple Mac… possibly the fact you are running inferior handware / software is the reason you are having problems.. i wouldn’t be surprised considering you moan about free internet.

  6. I also love how you people lay into talktalk.. remember aol’s nickname? AOHELL! or maybe “B@ll@cks Telecom” / BT

    Broadband supplier setup is in most part pure LUCK that they get you connected correctly and on time.

    You will find in most instances that it is an extremely complex process and you must realize that human beings are operating these companies and therefor mistakes can be made.

    I wouldn’t be surprised if someone further down in this blog says “hey, go to bt! i moved to them and they are great!”

    Put a search in to google for BT Hell and broadband nightmares or something to that effect and you will find just as many people complaining about any provider.

    People need to come to terms with the fact that broadband in itself has exploded and is still VERY young in the UK and at its current rate or progress and EXTREME competition there is a lot of room for error.

    Now… everyone chill out, have a smoke.. and if you are seriously wanting to cancel your provider or move somewhere else, its nothing a 10-15minute phone cal to the relevent department cannot handle. Calm down and speak clearly and politely. I understand you people are frustrated but honestly giving the minimum wage telephone support guy an earbashing REALLY isnt the answer. You’ll find they are a lot more responsive when you talk to them like a human being rather than a dog… don’t forget they are in a call center of maybe up to 1000 people… YOU have to call back and stay on hold again if they press the HANG UP because you were being rude… don’t make a mountain out of a road bump.

    the key is CALM my friends. =)

Leave a Reply

