June and August confusing for Talk Talk

Like the mole? It’s especially for Moley 🙂

Trev and Pat are slightly vexed by how June and August are two of the same thing. They’ve sent letters to BBC Breakfast, Dunstone and… me! Can anyone help?

Hello, its now nearly the end of August and still no broadband from
Talktalk.

I received a letter from Talktalk in July asking for my MAC code, so that
you could transfer my service from BT. I replied to that letter the same
day, but still no broadband from Talktalk.

I have emailed your help line a number of times, but I have had no response;
not even an acknowledgement and you guessed it – still no broadband from
Talktalk.

I have telephoned the help line and have been kept waiting for 10 or more
minutes, before the line disengages. When I do get to speak to someone, I am
invariably fobbed off.

I eventually spoke to a person at the call centre on Monday 21st August. She
(presumably in India from her accent) first told me that there was no
record of my order, then she blamed the computer system, then she promised
that someone would phone me back “soonest” and they would help me out.

But, I am sure you have guessed the result. It is now 23rd August and no-one
has called me back and I still have no broadband from Talktalk.

Fortunately, I do still have the broadband connection from BT, otherwise I
would not be able to work from home as I invariably do. By the way, this
means I am paying you for Talk3, which is supposed to include broadband and
I am also still paying BT £24.99 per month for their service.

So I am paying twice for the same thing.

So please help. Either get me connected or I will have no option but to
cancel my order and seek compensation from Talktalk for the duplicate
charges.

I have phone numbers and e-mail addresses if anyone wants to give them a hand. Trev and Pat, any update?

Technorati Tags: , , , , ,

powered by performancing firefox

Update: September 25, 2006. Kind of good news everyone!

Well, I did get a response from Talk Talk on 25th August.

The guy, whose name I will withold was very helpful and he admitted it was an internal administartive error that had prevented me from going live.

He asked me to send another MAC code, directly to him and promised he would deal with it.

However, when I told him I worked from home and needed a reliable broadband service, he recommended that I hold fire for 6 months, while my local telephone exchange was upgraded.

So helpful, but not the resolution I had hoped for.

Understood guys. But at least you got them to go that leeeeeetle bit further. That’s something, eh?

4 responses to “June and August confusing for Talk Talk

  1. thanks for the picture!!!!!
    moley is moved to the core.

    it sounds like trev and pat are suffering a postal problem, we have had a few instances where people have had a letter generated that requests a MAC code but dosnt actually go out.
    If you’re listening trev&pat, all you need to do is get a MAC code from BT and phone in with it, we’re up to date with the broadband orders now so you wont have to wait months, only about 14days from the date you give us the code. i know it’s frustrating but it’s down to the original backlog of orders that this has happened,
    if you want a tip, make sure that the MAC code follows the correct parameters…for example BBIP ( always four letters at the start ) and then after the / (forward slash), the format is EG12L ( it must always be a letter at the end and not a number so if you have a mac code that ends in “I” make sure that it is the letter I and not a number 1, even though our staff are trained to take these codes, i have seen people get it wrong so make sure that the advisor reads it back to you properly…..don’t email the mac code in cos our correspondance team will have to sift through all the crap ( my dog’s eaten my modem ) first and that will only slow you down. the best time to call is first thing in the morning, that way you are at the front of the que and your order will be sent to OPAl the very same day….better to wait 20mins in the que than 21 days for an email……

    moley….

  2. Trevor and Pat Roberts

    Well, I did get a response from Talk Talk on 25th August.
    The guy, whose name I will withold was very helpful and he admitted it was an internal administartive error that had prevented me from going live.
    He asked me to send another MAC code, directly to him and promised he would deal with it.
    However, when I told him I worked from home and needed a reliable broadband service, he recommended that I hold fire for 6 months, while my local telephone exchange was upgraded.

    So helpful, but not the resolution I had hoped for.

  3. Talkshit is the worse lying ISP in the World.

  4. If you need my advice you better stay with your service provider and never fall a victim of TalkShit people….They are using cheap labour to mess us up and keep us frustrated. I need to know how to take them to court.

Leave a Reply

