Christopher has some excellent recommendations

Tired of the automated messages from Dunstone’s team of goblins? Read the below from Christopher and absorb it until you can’t remember your phone number. It’s long but I promise you it’s well worth it.

Investors and users might like to consider the problems CPW/talktalk is having with its “free” broadband. Many subscribers I have spoken to feel that they are victims rather than customers, and the service provided is simply disgracefully bad. I spoke to an investor relations bod there this morning (I am afraid I was mug enough to be taken in by the “free” offer – giant mistake).

According to this spokesman, it seems that their “churn” rate is at astronomic levels. Of the “about 500,000” new subscribers, I was told that “80-120,000” have already thrown the towel in, and that was within a few months of the offer starting. Most service calls, says the spokesman, are experiencing wait times of 30 minutes before answering, and the cancellations department was so busy yesterday, for instance, that they were refusing to take any more calls and customers were simply cut off. (Oh yes, and the cancellations system crashed under its excess load, too) I was cut off six times, and of the five people who promised to call me back, no-one did. It feels to me (and I’m a grey-haired old stockbroker, long retired from the fray) that they have a public-relations/management disaster on the go. Bought the shares ? – Mind yer eye, as we used to say in Throgmorton Street.

The one person who can actually reel in the odiously smug Mr Dunthorne is his non-executive director, who is a real City Heavyweight (rather than merely overweight). Try writing to:

Sir Brian Pitman
Morgan Stanley
25 Cabot Square
Canary Wharf
London E14 4QA

I guarantee that polite letters (rather than rants) will receive a reply: Pitman used to run Lloyds-TSB and knows what you have to do to deal with disgruntled customers. He won’t want his reputation besmirched by CD.

Their shareprice, like their systems, has crashed of late, and they are pretty sensitive to investor relations, so why not email their Investor Relations Director Hugh Roberts at (Ed: Removed) : there are plenty of disgruntled institutional investors as well as furious customers out there. From a “City” point of view, their management incompetence is destroying value, and the institutions may well start baying for blood pretty soon. Number one head on line must be the Chief Operating Officer Richard Walker who’s in charge of the mayhem : (Ed: Removed)

See? It was worth it, wasn’t it? I recommend using the old spell checker when you send a letter to Sir Brian Pitman though. Christopher isn’t kidding, this guy is a fixture in the City.

Richard Walker has every reason to look as smug as he does at the bottom of the Unite Group page.

Thanks Christopher!

11 responses to “Christopher has some excellent recommendations

  1. Pingback: Less Talk Talk: More Service » Finally caught up to A! Recommendations round up

  2. It worked!!!

    Thanks Christopher – everybody I got responses from both Richard W and Charles D this morning – Richard W promised to attend to my requests personally. So far I’ve finally got my user name and password for the broadband. Have gone back to BT and have told CPW I want to lose the talk talk service and get my MAC code back. Will keep you guys posted. Christopher, thanks so much. Only took 40 mins on the phone to get this today – better than the weeks I’ve been waiting!

  3. This is breath of fresh air. I am one of the victims of free Broadband trap. I have been suffering from lack of customer services for weeks and weeks. I am tied up for 18months with Talktalk. Is there any way around it. I better click submit before I get disconnected again………..
    Thanks again. I will use your recommendations

  4. I Too have been in the TalkTalk trap i was promised May 2006 free broadband in September and as of the 24th February 2007 still no broadband so i am Paying £19.99 to talktalk and around £20.00 to Onetel and talktalk they say my is stuck as inactive within the system, isnt it funny that my broadband provider is Onetel is owned by TalkTalk, i think thats the reason i cant migrate to free broadband because the company as a whole would lose half their revenue. Comments welcome. P.S. I feel very much like a mushroon, Kept in the Dark and fed detrietous.

  5. Have suffered loss of phone service for over 3 weeks!Constantly emailed and no reply,constantly phoned and still no joy,have been pushed from pillar to post and no call backs when promised!Time to switch as they are just no good at all.

  6. Richard Taylor

    Don’t think after ages trying to migrate it can be over. I left last September after being a satisfied Onetel customer, but still get demands from debt collection agencies for bills that have been paid. Thanks for the addresses of the people in the city who may be able to kick Dunstone’s ass. More to follow.

  7. Now my phone won’t ring. Not good news if you’re trying to run a business.

  8. I applied for Talk Talk package in Aug. 2006
    to this date (today) I have sent 2 MAC keys the first one they lost. the second they say had already expired, and now April 2007 they have asked me to supply yet another MAC KEY. As I already have the phone deal. I can’t get out of this mess.
    any suggestions would be well received as I am sick of them.Emails conflict with phone calls. No one seems to know what anyone else is doing in that place. I am sick of it. and I still do not have my broadband.
    H E L P ANYONE OUT THIER.

  9. I HAVE BEEN WITHOUT ADSL ON LINE SINCE 19 MARCH 2007 AND STILL WAITING FOR OPAL ENGINEERS TO FIX PROBLEM AT THE EXCHANGE.
    TECHNICAL SUPPORT AND LINE 2 SUPPORT WERE CONVINCED I KNEW NOTHING ABOUT RUNNING MY NETWORK.
    AM CURRENTLY STUDYING A+ AND MCSE SO AM FAMILIAR WITH WIRES AND SETTINGS. I DO NOT SAY THIS TO IMPRESS JUST TO POINT OUT THAT THINGS ARE OK AT MY END. STILL NO ADSL EQUIPMENT ON LINE DUE TO OPAL OR TALKTALK.

  10. Sue
    As you haven’t received broadband since you applied in August, TT haven’t forfilled their side of the contract. They should let you break the contract and leave for free. I waited only a month and half beyond my go- live date before I left for nothing.

  11. I HAVE DISCOVERED OVER THE WEEKEND THAT I HAVE BEEN A SILLY BILLY SO MUCH FOR BEING A MCSE STUDENT . FORGOT TO SWAP WIRES OVER ON ROUTER SO I AM AT FAULT FOR BEING WITHOUT ADSL LIGHT THATS MY TAKE ANYWAY. AMAZING THAT I SHOULD THIMK THAT SOMETHING SO BASIC COULD NOT BE THE PROBLEM MAYBE I SHOULD KEEP MY MOUTH SHUT AND DOUBLE CHECK EVERYTHING IN FUTURE THANKS TALKTALK SORRY SORRY.

Leave a Reply

