Lots of tips

A salesman has e-mailed me anonymously to let me in on some tips regarding some internal bits and pieces. Here’s the breakdown:

1. If you’re an Orange/Wannadoo customer your MAC may not work. CPW have been having a lot of trouble with them.

2. CPW has a new escalation form that seems to be solving some issues but not all. Yet (?)

3. A lot of the e-mail problems you guys have had can be solved at your local CPW shop. The sales person can sign into bbdashboard.talktalk.net with the customer’s username and password and update it from there.

4. Quoted directly: “Everytime you call customer service a note should be on the account by the person you spoke to, if you want to be certain, ask them to make sure it’s been entered, If you need to ring again for the same problem ask the agent to look at the notes and they can work out what’s happened. Sometimes they might not look into something correctly if not prompted, and try redoing something that didnt work before.”

5. Quoted: “Alot of provisioning problems have been issues with BT rejecting the application for the line from TalkTalk, and for some stupid reason TalkTalk don’t do anything after that, so the account just hangs there until the customer calls to find out what’s happening.”

6. 7,000 modems going out per day but fewer complaints. So there is a number of apathetic customers (at least.) Good to know. 🙂

7. Be nice to Talk Talk employees, a lot of them are actually decent folk with souls.

8. On cancelling: “On cancelling the contract, there is no “cancellation code” and you just have to give the standard 30 days notice, but for CPW services it has to be done in writing. if you are not recieving the service as stated in the contract you can cancel without a fee.”

I hope you guys find this useful. Thank you  🙂

20 responses to “Lots of tips

  1. I smell bull cpw saleman.. BT cannot stop a line transfer for the simple reasons –

    1 – its illegal to stop a transfer, as per ofcoms guidelines and regulations, enforced by themselves to stop bt’s monoply.

    2 – its not BT that transfer the line anyhow, its an unbiased interface organisation called OPENREACH , whom liase between BT retail and the selling company concerned, ie CPW.

    The big problem CPW customers are having not being able to connect to broadband is usually the line is broadband enabled PSTN when it is sold to CPW, however CPW need to use their own technology at the exchange for LLU, so they should only have a standard PSTN line, and not an already broadband enabled one.

    BT DO NOT BLOCK TRANSFERS OF ANY LINE.

  2. Darren,

    sorry but you are wrong. BT/Openreach can (and do) stop transfers of lines.

    1 – If the line is currently on fault prority care level 3 with BT but the customer does not inform TalkTalk of this, TalkTalk will attempt to transfer the line on care level 1 which will be rejected by BT/openreach

    2 – There are any open orders on the line. BT/openreach will not allow any line to transfer to another provider if an open order exists on the line.

    I could go on, but there are far to many rejections to list and to be honest i can’t be bothered.

    By the way Openreach is still BT, no matter which way you slice it.
    (and there’s no need to shout!)

  3. Loredana Pozzetto

    I signed up with TalkTalk in April 06. Since then I have been chasing, calling, e-mailing for an answer to why I still haven’t received my welcome pack and modem. To this day I have been ignored, promised dates that came and went and I’m still paying for broadband that I should get FREE from them. For what I read in the press this is happening to loads of people, this is now a well advertised scam!!!! FREE BROADBAND??? YE RIGHT!!
    They are in breach of contract and getting away with it! I wrote to Watchdog and really hope they will follow this case. If you are thing of signing up with them ……….well….think again!

  4. they are not in breach of contract. you should have read their terms and conditions properly. i get sick to the bones of telling people this. and yes, it is a scam.

  5. Loredana Pozzetto

    Thanks Darren, I wish I read terms and condition fully. I gave them my MAC code twice and the expiring date on the last one was 21/7/06. I want to get out of this!!!!!! any tips???? do I write??? send e-mail??? call??? I have been ignored so long that I feel I’m just going to hit a brick wall again. Any suggestions??

  6. Hi there.

    It is really sad to see that we have to contend with this BS and within the telecoms industry. There are companies out there with good and decent offerings and some even have a high level of integrity.

  7. Carphone Employee

    Darren you haven’t got a clue mate!!!! All those “Openreach” vans that we see driving round the country I’m sure have BT writing all over them! BT Openreach is basically the enabling arm of BT, the switch and the department that TT work directly with is BT Wholeslale.

    BT can and do reject orders on a whim, for all sorts of reasons such as there is a wrong poscode, initial, or any detail that doesn’t tally with what they have.

    How is note getting free broadband possibly a scam? You signed or agreed to a contract that clearly stated how much it would be!

  8. my daughter signed up for the whole £21.99 package and is having trouble getting it set up.

    Having spent all day reading all the horror stories on here,ebay and all the googling i’ve done…..i really dont think she should attempt to get on it anymore!

    how can she get out of the contract?.PLEASE HELP!
    thanks

  9. Hi Ness,

    If she’s within the 14 day contract she can cancel it. Check this post:

    How to: Cancel Carphone Warehouse

    Outside of that I’m not sure. I can’t recall if that post and the following link mentions it but document EVERYTHING, make copies and use registered post.

  10. Hi Loredana.

    Sadly Darren is right about the Ts and Cs, they basically say that as long as it’s not their fault service doesn’t have to exist. I think there are some other bits and pieces about reasonable downtime as well. Nothing specific but nothing in their customers’ favor.

  11. Trading Standards regs, if a service is not provided after 28days, you have the right to cancel. Check with your local trading standards, cancel your direct debits, send CPW a letter, and if they demand money then refer them to trading standards.

  12. Loredana Pozzetto

    HI ALL!!! IT’S SO NICE TO HAVE THIS SPACE AND SHARE MY THOUGHTS. I GAVE THEM TWICE MY MAC NUMBER……….AND AS I UNDERSTAND IT HAS AN EXPIRING DATE…..SO I POINTED THAT OUT TO THE PERSON I SPOKE TO AND TWICE I WAS REASSURED THAT THEY WILL SEND ME MY MODEM SO THAT I COULD BE CONNECTED IN 10 DAYS . BUT IN MY CASE THIS WAS NOT TRUE!!!!!!
    I SIGHED UP IN APRIL….AND TO THIS DAY I DIDN’T GET A REPLY OR A SIGN THAT THEY HAVE READ MY E-MAIL. THANKS DARREN!!! I WILL CHECK WITH TRADING STANDARDS AND CANCEL THIS CONTRACT, SINCE THEY COULD NOT PROVIDE ME WITH THE SEDRVICE I SIGHED UP FOR. BUT WHAT I’M ASKING IS THAT THERE MUST BE A WAY TO EXPOSE THIS SCAM AND GET A SOLUTION… IF NOT FOR US BUT FOR OTHERS ….AND MAYBE COMPENSATION. ANY THOUGHTS?????

  13. ive arleady written to the media, like daily mirror and sky news, neither bothered with a reply. so its unlikely.. maybe this petition going round, a copy should be sent to a high street news paper too ?

  14. You are so lucky just to be able to read your email! I have real problems with talk talk webmail. It hardly ever works! Thank God I dont rely on it for any sort of business. The only good thing about talk talk is its cheap. absolutely nothing else!

  15. Loredana Pozzetto

    I NEVER ENCOUNTER A COMPANY THAT CAN GET AWAY SO OPENLY WITH A SCAM LIKE THIS. AFTER GIVING TWICE MY MAC NUMBERS I GOT A LETTER REQUESTING FOR ANOTHER ONE. OF COURSE WHEN YOU CALL IT TAKES 20 MIN. TO GET TO SOMEONE AND THEY ONLY THING THAT THEY CAN SAY IS “DON’T WORRY MUM ALL IS SORTED”. WHAT EXACTLY DO THEY MEAN BY SORTED???? WHICH PART OF THE DEAL IS SORTED??? I HAVE BEEN WAITING SINCE APRIL!!!! I WILL PRESENT THEM WITH A BILL TO COVER MY CURRENT EXPENSES FOR THE BROADBAND I’M STILL PAYING FOR. P.S. I FINALLY MANAGED TO GET HOLD OF SOMEONE AT CUSTOMER SERVICE AND GUESS WHAT? THEY JUST GAVE ME ANOTHER NUMBER TO CALL!!!!! HARRRRRRRRR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  16. okay. guys…please for FFFFFxsssss sake.. return your Line Rental service to BT, atleast that will give you the freedom to pick and choose which BB supplier you want on your line. Suffer the cancellation costs, but if they try and force it on you, inform them that as per Trading Standards regs, because you havent had a service for 28days or more, you have the legal right to cancel.

  17. Loredana and Darren: Sadly even the e-mail leak didn’t get an acknowledgement anywhere. I have yet to actually read something negative in any of the broadsheets or tabloids about Talk Talk. Either the story isn’t interesting enough or there are some advertising conflicts. Michael (yay!) did post something and so did a writer for the Birmingham online. They’re paying attention!

  18. Loredana Pozzetto

    Finally I got a reply, I will let you know the result! Keep persevering

  19. I guess talk talk are reading this – ever since my last posting my email service has packed up and I now have NO ACCESS whatsoever!
    I guess its back to good old hotmail!

  20. I started on their Anytime bundle and wish I hadn’t – Tiscali will be offering exactly the same deal at the same price in Jan. (I was with them for 12 months and the difference makes me weep).
    Talktalk broadband webspace support is useless.
    No joined up thinking – connection unreliable and server always conveniently down as an excuse for the problems I am experiencing trying to get my website published on my “free” webspace… the impression I get is that they don’t really want you to use it.
    I still haven’t got my website up!!!!!!
    After 2 months will lose out if I break the 18month contract.
    I am too ****ed off to write any more – too much negative stuff piling up in my life

Leave a Reply

